UCA names new members to Sports Hall of Fame

The University of Central Arkansas will add seven new members to the UCA Sports Hall of Fame this fall.

The Class of 2016 will include Cleon Brown (football/track), Nathan Brown (football), Lisa Dreher (softball), Layton Gray (football/track), Bobby Hill (football), Don Struebing (football) and Bill Terwilliger (basketball/coaching).

Cleon Brown was an NAIA All-American defensive tackle on the 1984 national championship team and also threw the shot put for the track team. Nathan Brown was a record-setting quarterback for the Bears from 2005 to 2008, throwing for state records of 100 touchdowns and 10,558 yards. Brown, the Southland Conference Player of the Year in 2008, is currently the offensive coordinator at UCA.

Dreher was UCA’s first softball signee when the program began in 2006 and was a four-time, first-team All-Gulf South Conference selection and an NFCA All-Region selection. Dreher, who is the head softball coach at Bryant High School, was inducted into the Arkansas Softball Hall of Fame in 2012.

Gray was a four-year letterman in football and track and field. Gray was the state’s best hurdler in 1936 and was high point man at the 1935 state track meet. Hill was a four-year letterman in football for the Bears and was outstanding offensive back in 1968 and 1969. After college, Hill taught and was an administrator in the Conway School District for many years.

Struebing was a much-decorated offensive lineman for the Bears from 1994-96, earning multiple All-America honors in 1995 and 1996 and being named to the Gulf South Conference All-Decade Team (1990s). Terwilliger was a four-year basketball letterman who had one of the most successful high school coaching careers in Arkansas, winning a pair of state titles and coaching two NBA players.

The Class of 2016 will be honored at the annual UCA Sports Hall of Fame Brunch at the Student Center Ballroom on Saturday, Oct. 22, prior to the UCA-Lamar football game.

This class will be the 16th to be inducted into the UCA Sports Hall of Fame.