Harding players recognized

The Harding football team, 2017 national semifinalists, had five team members named to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society.

Harding’s honorees included offensive lineman Gavin De Los Santos, offensive lineman Michael Gragg, kicker/punter Tristan Parsley, running back Zach Shelley and running back Colby Webb.

To be eligible, student-athletes must have completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2017 and achieved a 3.2 cumulative GPA.

De Los Santos started all 15 games at right tackle. He was a kinesiology and health major with a 3.48 GPA.

Gragg started all 15 games at left tackle. He graduated with a 3.36 GPA in exercise science and is currently a graduate student at Harding.

Parsley made 16 of 23 field goals and 59 of 60 extra points in his senior season and averaged 39.1 yards per punt. He is a marketing major with a 3.37 GPA.

Shelley rushed for 878 yards and five touchdowns in 2017. He graduated in December with a 3.27 GPA in management.
Webb had 76 rushing yards and one touchdown as a senior. He also graduated in December and had a 3.31 GPA in exercise science.

Harding’s five honorees were more than the other 11 teams in the GAC combined. Southern Arkansas had three players honored and Oklahoma Baptist had one.