Couples: Shelley and Justin Charton

Shelley and Dr. Justin Charton are loving life in Conway with their four children. “While most of our life revolves around raising four beautiful girls, Justin does a great job of planning time for just the two of us to get away. It is so important for us,” said Shelley. (Mike Kemp photo)

HER    Shelley Charton

Where did you grow up: Hot Springs.

Education: Bachelor of science degree in nursing from UAMS.

Job: I previously worked as a labor and delivery nurse. Once we moved to Conway, I worked in childbirth and diabetes education. I decided to be a stay-at-home mom after having my third baby girl.

Why did you choose your vocation: It is all I have ever wanted to do! I love taking care of patients in the hospital setting.

Parents: Bren May of Maumelle.

Community activities: Justin and I serve on the K-Life board.

Church activities: We have been a part of a life group at New Life Church for seven years.

Hobbies/special interests: I enjoy running, biking, tennis, and pretty much anything with my girls.

How would you describe yourself: I am an optimistic extrovert who loves people!

What is one thing people don’t know about you: I am deathly afraid of riding in a car on mountains. Not all heights, just cars on mountains.

What do you enjoy most about living in the 501: After living in Texas, I realize how much I love trees! Arkansas is such a beautiful state with so many great opportunities for our family.

HIM    Justin Charton

Native of: Morrilton.

Education: Bachelor of science degree from Arkansas Tech; medical degree from UAMS; internal medicine internship at UAMS; and ophthalmology residency at University of Texas Southwestern.

Job: Ophthalmologist at MSC Eye Associates.

Why did you choose your vocation: I enjoyed the technical nature of eye surgery and the ability to focus on a specific area of the body.  

Parents: Rick and Marcia Charton of Morrilton.

Community activities:  K-Life board member, PHO board member, and a member of the Conway Regional ACM committee.  

Church activities: Attend New Life Church and a member of the Rawls’ Life Group.

Hobbies/special interests: Spending time with my kids, mountain biking and most any outdoor activity.  

How would you describe yourself:  Energetic and detail-oriented.   

What is one thing people don’t know about you: Last year, I finished first in the Single Speed Marathon division of the Arkansas Mountain Bike Championship Series.  

Most enjoyed weekend activity: Camping with family.

What do you enjoy most about living in the 501: It’s the perfect place to raise our family and I have the privilege of taking care of people in and around the communities where I was raised.


Residents of: Conway.

How we met: We met at Fellowship Bible in Little Rock through a mutual friend.

The proposal: Justin woke me up at 5:30 a.m. to surprise me with a morning hike. We made it to the top of Pinnacle Mountain just in time for a proposal at sunrise!

Wedding bells: Dec. 21, 2002, at Fellowship Bible in Little Rock.

Children: Alexa (14), Hollan (11), Sydney (9) and Ellison (6).

Pets: Ryder, a 4-year-old Bouvier des Flandres.

Family activities: Camping, fishing, hiking, the lake, the beach, ALL of the outdoor things!