Women Voters elects directors

The newly formed League of Women Voters of Faulkner County has elected its board of directors for 2017-2019. The League of Women Voters is nonpartisan, neither supporting nor opposing candidates or political parties at any level of government, but always looking at vital issues of concern to members and the public. The League of Women Voters encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

Newly elected officials of the Women Voters of Faulkner County: Cindy Thornton, voter services chair (from left); Faye Shepherd, co-president; John Krebs, treasurer; Sasha Pfau, record keeper/secretary; Terri Berkshire, co-president; and Jill Acree, vice president.

The League of Women voters works to register voters, provide information and hold candidate forums and debates.

The local chapter has 43 members.

Anyone over the age of 16 is welcome to join. The League meets the first Thursday of every month at 6 p.m. at 844 Faulkner St. (Faulkner County Extension Office Auditorium) in Conway.

Newly elected officials are Faye Shepherd and Terri Berkshire, co-president; Jill Acree, vice president; Cindy Thornton, voter services chair; John Krebs, treasurer; and Sasha Pfau, record keeper/secretary.