UCA to induct 10 into hall of fame

The induction banquet will be held on Saturday, Oct. 3, in conjunction with the UCA-Missouri S&T football game. The newest inductees will give the Hall of Fame 96 members.

The Class of 2009, the ninth class to be inducted, includes Zack Burks, Sallie Dalton, Joe Foley, Dick Hendrickson, James “Red” Morgan, Sandra Reed, Nakita Robertson, Jim Schneider, Steve Strange Jr. and Charlie Strong.

The Class of 2009 will be inducted at 11:30 a.m. at a banquet in the Student Center Ballroom on Oct. 3. The plaque ceremony in the Hall of Fame Room at Estes Stadium will be at 5 p.m. that day. The inductees will be introduced in a pregame ceremony prior to the 6 p.m. kickoff.

501 LIFE is proud to serve as a sponsor of this year’s Hall of Fame game.

Zack Burks
Burks was an NAIA All-American basketball player for the Bears, who played on the NAIA national runner-up team in 1990-91. He was a three-time All-Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference selection.

Sallie Dalton

Dalton was a coach and administrator at UCA from 1978-1998, coaching everything from swimming and volleyball to track and field. She also served as the NCAA compliance coordinator during the school’s transition to NCAA Division II.

Joe Foley

Foley, a UCA grad, is the winningest women’s basketball coach in Arkansas collegiate history (559-158). He was a head coach at Arkansas Tech and currently coaches at Arkansas-Little Rock. He won two NAIA national championships at ATU.

Dick Hendrickson
Hendrickson was a two-sport athlete at UCA (football/track) and was part of several championship track and field squads. He then went on to a long and successful career as a coach and administrator on the high school level.

James “Red” Morgan
Morgan was a three-year letterman in football and track from 1952-54 and was an All-AIC selection in football. He still holds the school record with four touchdown receptions in a game.

Sandra Reed
Reed was UCA’s fourth women’s basketball All-American in 1987-88 and 1988-89. She ranks ninth in career scoring at UCA and fourth in career steals.

Nakita Robertson
Robertson was an NAIA All-American in 1983 and was a seventh-round draft choice of the Chicago Bears in the 1984 NFL Draft.

Jim Schneider
Schneider was the first sports information director at UCA, creating the school’s first official media guides and game programs. He was also a long-time sports writer for the Log Cabin Democrat.

Steve Strange Jr.
Strange was an NAIA All-American placekicker in 1991 and kicked the game-winning field goal in the Bears’ national championship victory over Central State.

Charlie Strong
Strong was a two-time All-AIC selection in football and a three-year letterman in track who went on to a high-profile collegiate coaching career. He is an assistant coach at the University of Florida.