UCA sets date, honorees for annual Night of Distinction

The University of Central Arkansas will host its fifth annual Night of Distinction gala on Saturday, April 25. Recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award will be Dr. Kofi Boahene ‘94 and Faith A. Fields ’75,’88. Dr. Herman B. Ellis ’59 will receive the Alumni Service Award.

Boahene is an associate professor of facial plastic and reconstructive surgery and otolaryngology head and neck surgery at Johns Hopkins Medical Institute in Baltimore. His practice encompasses the entire spectrum of facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, including cosmetic procedures, corrective surgery for congenital facial defects, facial paralysis, open and endoscopic minimally invasive skull base surgery, microsurgery, reconstruction of cancer patients and extensive post-traumatic deformities.

Fields significantly advanced the nursing profession through improved systems, communication and regulatory updates during her long and fulfilling nursing career. Upon graduation from UCA in 1975, Fields spent several years working in the areas of critical care, education, long term care and nursing administration. She currently serves as the nurse residency program coordinator at Conway Regional Medical Center.

Ellis is a lifetime member of the UCA Alumni Association (UCAAA). He received his bachelor of science degree in physical science degree from UCA in 1959. He retired from the U.S. Army Dental Corp in 1992. Dr. Ellis has been an active volunteer for the UCAAA for many years and served as vice president of the board in 2008. He chaired the Class of 1959 Reunion Committee and was inducted into the Half-Century Club in 2009.

Sponsorships and tickets will be available after the first of the year.