UCA announces Community Development Pipeline Cohort

CONWAY — The University of Central Arkansas Center for Community and Economic Development has selected 25 northwest Arkansas leaders to participate in the Community Development Pipeline program. The program is designed to provide training and technical assistance to community leaders in Washington and Benton counties.

The Community Development Pipeline program is grant-funded by the Walton Family Foundation.

The following individuals have been selected to participate:

  • Mayor Chris Moore, City of Lowell
  • Councilman D’Andre Jones, City of Fayetteville
  • Daisy Bonilla, LCSW, Executive Director of The Valle Pino Foundation
  • Mayor David Faulk, City of Prairie Grove
  • Dustin Phy, Community Development Compliance Director at the City of Pea Ridge
  • Ezequiel Tovar, Board Member of the Elkins Community Network
  • Hannah Lee, Director of Community Engagement at Canopy NWA
  • James Bell, Vice President of Economic Development at the Greater Bentonville Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Jamie Smith, President of the Elkins Community Network
  • Judith Yanez, Founding Executive Director at RootED Northwest Arkansas
  • Kayla Knight, Planner at the City of Centerton
  • Lydia Alston, Development Specialist at the Community Development Corporation of Bentonville + Bella Vista, Inc.
  • Mallory Barker, Community Services Specialist at the Walton Arts Center
  • Michelle Viney, Area Director of Program Operations/Community Sustainability at Communities Unlimited
  • Mayor Nathan See, City of Pea Ridge
  • Judge Patrick Deakins, Washington County
  • Ross Phillips, Senior Vice President of Community Development at the Rogers-Lowell Chamber
  • Stacy Morris, Executive Director of Main Street Siloam Springs
  • Taryn Golden, President of the Prairie Grove Chamber of Commerce
  • Trace Henley, Member Services Manager at Health Partners
  • Trish Ouei, Director of Public Affairs at Beaver Water District
  • Mayor Troy Reed, City of Elkins
  • Veronica Alzaga, Parent Leader at Madres in Acción

These individuals were selected through a competitive application process based on their dedication to community development and desire to create sustainable change in their communities. Over the course of the program, the cohort will participate in UCA’s Community Development Institute (CDI) training and engage in community and economic development work at the local level.

“The 25 leaders selected for the Community Development Pipeline program display varied experience, backgrounds, and skills, but one thing they have in common is their passion and love for their communities,” said Director of the Center for Community and Economic Development Shelby Fiegel. “These leaders have a desire to expand their knowledge and involvement in making their communities thriving places to live, work, and play. We hope that the Pipeline program serves as a catalyst for positive change.”

Cohort members will receive a three-year scholarship and travel support to CDI. They will also have the opportunity to become certified Professional Community and Economic Developers (PCED). 

Participants will benefit from opportunities to enhance their leadership skills and network with other community development professionals and experts to learn about the latest trends and best practices in the field. They will also have access to technical assistance resources and support to accomplish short and long-term community and economic development goals.

For more information about the Community Development Pipeline program, please visit www.uca.edu/cced/cd-pipeline-program/.