Ten selected for UCA Sports Hall of Fame

The Class of 2010, the 10th class to enter the UCA Sports Hall of Fame, will be inducted at a banquet on Saturday, Oct. 9, in conjunction with the UCA-Northwestern State football weekend.
The honorees:

Wayne Beadles
Beadles was a standout in track and field in the 1950s and was the high-point man at the 1955 Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference meet.

Dr. Avril Burks
Dr. Burks was a long-time faculty athletic representative for UCA athletics, chaired the UCA Athletic Committee and served on several NAIA committees representing the university.

Otis Chandler
Chandler was a four-year letterman who was a first-team All-American in 1980 and a two-time All-AIC and NAIA District 17 selection as a defensive lineman.

Mike Coffman
Coffman was a record-setting defensive end and a two-time honorable mention All-American and a three-time All-AIC selection.

Ray Dunbar
Dunbar was one of the top punters in school history, with a school-record career punting average. He also lettered in baseball.

Jack Fulmer
Fulmer was a standout baseball player for the Bears who was drafted in the seventh round in 1967, and later coached the Bears for 10 seasons. He has the third most victories of any UCA baseball coach.

Ernest Miller
Miller was an outstanding runner in the early 1960s, setting numerous school and AIC records, and also lettering one year in football.

Larry Rogers
Rogers, another in a long list of award-winning track and field athletes at UCA, was an NAIA All-American in 1978-79.

Bill Shimek
Shimek was a three-sport athlete (football/baseball/basketball) in the late 1950s. An All-Conference performer in both football and baseball, he remains 10th in career punting yards at UCA.

Buddy Voegele
Voegele was a football and track standout and All-AIC performer in both sports. He also won the L.B. Jackman Award in football in 1961.
For more information or to purchase banquet tickets, please call 501.450.3150.