Teams from the 501 headed to Quiz Bowl finals

The Arkansas Governor’s Academic Competition is celebrating its 30th year with the broadcast of “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2015” on Saturday, April 25. A showcase for Arkansas high school students’ intellect, the Quiz Bowl state finals involve seven conferences for a total of 14 teams.

The Quiz Bowl matches are a celebration and recognition of scholarship. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge of literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Winners of the state conference finals earn the opportunity to represent the Natural State in national tournaments. Scholarship money will also be awarded.

The broadcast of “Quiz Bowl 2015” will be aired in two parts — 9 a.m. to noon and 1:30 to 4:30 p.m. All games will broadcast from AETN studios — located at 350 Donaghey Ave. — and the public is invited to be a part of the audience. To join us, be sure to arrive no later than 8:30 a.m. for the first round nor 1 p.m. for the second at the AETN studios Sesame Street entrance.

The first round of matches, beginning at 9 a.m., will include:
•    3A — Episcopal Collegiate (Little Rock) vs. Centerpoint (Amity)
•    6A — Benton vs. Russellville
•    1A — Sacred Heart (Morrilton) vs. Mt. Vernon-Enola
•    2A — Hazen vs. Conway Christian

The second round of matches, beginning at 1:30 p.m., will include:
•    7 A — Fort Smith Southside vs. Conway
•    4A — Subiaco Academy vs. Hamburg
•    5A — Morrilton vs. Little Rock Christian

Immediately following the last match, Gov. Asa Hutchinson will be in the studio for a special tribute to Arkansas’s 30 years of Quiz Bowl competition.