MORRILTON: Devil Dogs on the hunt for 5A West crown

Conference: 5A West
Coach: Cody McNabb
2012 Record: 8-3 (6-1)

The Devil Dogs took it to the next level in 2012, taking second in the 5A West and picking up their first playoff win in years in the first round over Jacksonville, 42-14.

Morrilton’s offense proved explosive, averaging nearly 35 points per game (the max, 52, coming in a Week 4 win against Shiloh Christian), and the Devil Dog defense proved just as good, allowing just less than 12 points per game in their wins.

Senior dual-threat quarterback Toney Hawkins returns after putting up all-state numbers last fall. Senior Sharaz Rhodes saw some time at running back in 2012 and is expected to get most of the carries this fall.

Senior receiver and 501 Football Team honoree Reese Heidenreich returns with “big play” potential.

“Reese will have to be a good player [for us] in  all phases of the game — offense, defense and special
teams,” Coach Cody McNabb said. “He made several big plays on offense and special teams [last year].”

Seniors Kelvin Mitchell, Gerell Riles and Tristin Burgess each started in games on the offensive line last year.

Two seniors return on both ends of the defensive line: Kieran Cole and three-year starter Bobby Foster.

Senior Colton Cooksey was an all-conference performer last fall at linebacker. Heidenreich plays both ways at cornerback, and classmate Shawn Brockman joins him in the secondary after starting in several games a year ago.

Sept. 6 Russellville
Sept. 13 at Prairie Grove
Sept. 20 at Searcy
Sept. 27 at Shiloh Christian
Oct. 4 Alma
Oct. 11 at Greenbrier
Oct. 18 Vilonia
Oct. 25 at Huntsville
Nov. 1 Harrison
Nov. 8 Clarksville

501 Football Team 2013 –
Reese Heidenreich
Nominated by Coach Cody McNabb

Reese Heidenreich (Mike Kemp photo)

Classification: Senior

Position: WR/DB

On the field: Leadership, work ethic, toughness, speed.

Off the field: Faith, personality, leadership.

Sportsmanship: Positive and encouraging. Unselfish and positive.

Expectations: Smart student, student council member.