MAYFLOWER: Explosive offense pushes Eagles

Conference: 2-3A
Coach: Todd Langrell
’16 Record: 6-5

In 2016, the Mayflower Eagles doubled their win total year-over-year and made it back to the playoffs after missing in 2015.

“Last season was one of affirmation,” Coach Todd Langrell said. “The things we are trying to do are getting done. Players are lifting each other up. Selflessness was a common theme. The building blocks of a team were in place.

“I think our defining moment last year was when we stopped Barton on the 1-foot line with 5 seconds remaining to win the game. At this point it put us on a three-game winning streak.”

The Eagles return seven starters to an explosive offense. Keon Simmons, Houston Cochran, Justin Spencer and Meshach Cole give the Eagles powerful weapons at receiver in the Spread offense. Deon Simmons and Dylan Burnett rotate in the backfield. Deon Simmons rushed for more than 1,500 yards last fall. All of these powerhouse weapons are deployed thanks to a solid offensive line: Jordan Teas, Austin Butler, Josh Christ, David Jaggers, Daniel Sutton and Riley Naylor.

“With seven starters returning and averaging close to 350 yards per game, I feel as though we have enough offense to compete for a conference championship,” Langrell said.

Tristan Capel, Teas and Sutton play up front on the defensive line. Linebackers include Tyler Maxwell, KJ Gray, Josh Sellers, Turner Hudson and Tyler Kirkpatrick.

“Returning our top tackler in Turner Hudson and making some slight changes to our defense, I feel like we will be more effective and able to read and react more quickly,” Langrell said.

The Mayflower Cheerleaders will compete in five competitions this year plus the state championship in December at Summit Arena in Hot Springs. Members of this year’s squad: Aleia Butler (front, from left), Zaelin Morris, Bailey Capel; Courtney McElay (second row), Zoey Hunt, Camie Austin, Raven Kirkpatrick, Abby Gresham; Sammi Moore (third row), Erin Roberts, Haley Messec, Hope Coosenberry, Emily Spikes; Cheyenne Delaney (back), Matti Grace, Savanna Cook, Shyanne Smith and Joe Moore. Coaches are John and Pam Pipkins.