Local artists to be recognized

by Conway Alliance for the Arts

Conway Alliance for the Arts (CAFTA) has scheduled the third annual Conway Arts Awards on Tuesday, April 5, in the Trieschmann Fine Arts Building at Hendrix College.  

The awards, recognizing contributions to the Arts in Conway, will be given for Outstanding Arts Educator, Outstanding Student Achievement, Outstanding Individual Arts Achievement, the Rollin R. Potter Outstanding Arts Patron and a special Mayor’s Award for Community Advocate for the Arts. Also during the ceremony, the CAFTA Board will recognize an individual with a Lifetime Achievement in the Arts Award.

Members of the public are encouraged to submit nominations for any of these awards at artsinconway.org/awards. Forms can also be picked up at the Conway Area Chamber of Commerce, Faulkner County Library or the Reynolds Performance Hall Box Office at the University of Central Arkansas. The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, Feb. 29.

According to CAFTA Board Chair Gayle Seymour, “Nominees need not live in Conway, but their contributions must be or have been impactful to the Conway arts community. The Conway Alliance for the Arts is very pleased to take the lead in recognizing some very talented individuals who have helped enrich all of our lives.”

The public is invited to attend the artist awards ceremony, free of charge, which will include performances by musical, dance and literary artists. The ceremony will be followed by a reception. Hendrix College’s Culinary Club will prepare and serve hors d’oeuvres and other refreshments at the reception.

For more information, contact Amanda Horton at [email protected].