Fairfield Bay wins Henry Award

Arkansas tourism partners from across the state recently honored the 2016 winners of the annual “Henry Awards” during a luncheon at the 42nd Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism.

Henry Awards honor individuals and organizations that have made important contributions to the state’s tourism industry in the preceding year.

Fairfield Bay garnered the prestigious Community Tourism Development Award by achieving substantial success for its imaginative and innovation development efforts, resulting in creating a family recreation destination in the state.

“What an honor, and a fantastic validation of our achievements as a community. Five years ago, we came together and made a decision to initiate a marketing resurgence. From hospitality training, to a marketing plan, opening our Conference and Visitor Center, to the development of nine new events and so much more. It’s not just one thing, but the combination of all those things,” said Fairfield Bay Mayor Paul Wellenberger. “People come to Fairfield Bay because of our communication and advertising, but they come back again and again because our community delivers on a memorable and wonderful experience.”

Gov. Asa Hutchinson presided at the banquet and addressed nearly 500 attendees about tourism issues in Arkansas. Kane Webb, executive director of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, served as master of ceremonies and Miss Arkansas 2015 Loren McDaniel assisted in the presentation of the awards.

The 2016 Henry Award winners:

Media Support Award: Arkansas Life, Little Rock.

Bootstrap Award: Greater Searcy County Chamber of Commerce, Marshall.

Arkansas Heritage Award: Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission, Little Rock.

Grand Old Classic Special Event Award: King Biscuit Blues Festival, Helena-West Helena.

Outstanding Volunteer Service Award: Adam Davis, Mammoth Spring.

Community Tourism Development Award: City of Fairfield Bay.

The Natural State Award: Razorback Regional Greenway, Northwest Arkansas.

Tourism Person of the Year: Tom Walton, Walton Family Foundation and RopeSwing, Bentonville.

The Henry Awards have been a feature of the annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism since their debut in 1981. The awards are named for Henri de Tonti, founder of Arkansas Post in 1686, and who is often hailed as the first “Arkansas Traveler.”

For more information about Fairfield Bay, call 501.884.4202 or go to VisitFairfieldBay.com.