Daffodil Daze art contest winners

First Security Bank and Daffodil Daze recently teamed up to offer an art contest for Conway young people.

In its first year, 129 entries were received from The Art School of Conway and five Conway schools – Florence Mattison and Ellen Smith elementary schools, Carl Stuart Middle School, Conway Junior and Senior High schools.

Daffodil Daze organizer Donna Evans (back, left) and First Security banker Stefanie Holt (back, right) with winners in the art contest: Kylie Smith (front, from left), Owen Scribner, Henry Jordan; Julia Hambuchen (back), Verity Miller, Hannah Woodward and Brianna Budnick.

First Security provided the prizes for the first, second and third place winners. The winners and their artwork were recognized during a presentation of awards at the First Security main bank in North Conway.

Organizers hope to make the art contest an annual event.

Daffodil Daze is a new project to beautify the Tucker Creek trail in Conway with the seasonal yellow flowers. The committee is also encouraging others to plant daffodils throughout the city at businesses, schools, churches, etc.

The idea, which originated with Donna Evans, has grown into the creation of a Daffodil Daze Committee, which includes representatives of the Faulkner County Master Gardeners, the City of Conway and 501 LIFE.

The group hopes to plan and coordinate special activities along the trail each spring in conjunction with the blooming daffodils for an annual Daffodil Daze festival. For more information, call 501.327.1501.

The winners

First place – Henry Jordan, 8, Florence Mattison Elementary
Second place – Owen Scribner, 7, The Art School of Conway
Third place – Kylie Smith, 8, Florence Mattison
Honorable mention:
Savannah Page, 10, Ellen Smith Elementary
Ethan Perry, 10, Ellen Smith Elementary
Devin Jackson, 8, Florence Mattison
Elizabeth Brooks, 7, The Art School of Conway
Ethan Whitney, 8, Florence Mattison

First place – Allyson Oliver, 14, The Art School of Conway
Second place – Verity Miller, 13, Carl Stuart Middle School
Third place – Julia Hambuchen, 13, The Art School of Conway
Honorable mention:
Gabby Ward, 14, Carl Stuart Middle School
Bran Dajah Johnson, 12, Carl Stuart Middle School
Gage Martindale, 10, The Art School of Conway
Parker Prock, 12, Carl Stuart Middle School
Matt Kulbern, 12, Carl Stuart Middle School
Josh Barbee, 12, Carl Stuart Middle School

First place – Hannah Woodward, 17, The Art School of Conway
Second place – Brianna Budnick, 16, Conway High School
Third place – Emily Simpson, 16, Conway High School
Honorable mention:
Emily Moore, 16, Conway Junior High
Karlea King, 16, Conway High School
Payton Bentley, 16, Conway High School
Haley Burbridge, 16, Conway High School
Haley Goodwin, 16, Conway High School
Sophia Warriner, 16, Conway High School
Maddie Schultz, 16, Conway High School