Conway teacher named Arkansas History Teacher of the Year

Conway High School’s Brick Cullum has been named the 2022 Arkansas State History Teacher of the Year.

Inaugurated in 2004 and now presented annually by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, the History Teacher of the Year Award highlights the crucial importance of history education by honoring exceptional American history teachers from elementary school through high school. 

Brick Cullum

The award honors one K-12 teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and US Territories.

Cullum, who teaches African American History, World History and AP Comparative Government at Conway High School, is also CHS’ Teacher of the Year for 2022-23.

Additionally, he serves as the Arkansas State Beta Sponsor and sponsors the school’s diversity quarterly, “Mirrors.”

Conway High School Principal Buck Bing says Cullum is a teacher-leader who makes a difference for students each day.

“Mr. Cullum embodies our district’s core values, beginning with ‘Students First,’” says Bing. “He works tirelessly to support our students and help them be successful.”

Brick Cullum was born and raised in Conway and is a 2018 graduate of UCA. In 2021, he completed his Master’s Degree in Educational Theory and Practice from Arkansas State University. 

Cullum says his mission as a teacher is to empower students to use their own life stories for growth.

“It’s always about the kids,” says Cullum.  A student might be the first in his family to go through high school. A student might be working to support her family despite a rigorous  curriculum in seven different courses. A student might need my kind words to make it through a rough patch. My students ground me in reality and remind me of my humanity, giving me the passion and drive to work hard every single day as an educator.” In addition to a $1,000 honorarium, Cullum will receive a core archive of American history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials, recognition at a local ceremony, and become one of 53 finalists for the 2022 National History Teacher of the Year Award.