Conway School District names House as Teacher of the Year

Conway Public Schools has named kindergarten teacher Randi House as its District Teacher of the Year for 2018.

House’s classroom was packed with parents and grandparents for their end-of-the-year awards ceremony, where she was giving out awards to her students, when Theodore Jones Principal Tammy Woosley announced there was a surprise award presentation.

Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry then came into the awards ceremony with balloons and cookies for House and her students. The crowd applauded for their teacher, whom they say is one of a kind.

"Randi is a phenomenal teacher," said Woosley. "She has a way of being a huge advocate for students and putting her own unique, creative spin on the learning opportunities she provides to her students."

House has taught at Theodore Jones for the last six years, but began her teaching career in 2004. She taught preschool in the East Poinsett County School District, then first grade in the Nettleton School District prior to coming to Conway.

Before being chosen as District Teacher of the Year, she was chosen to represent Theodore Jones as their school’s Teacher of the Year.

Teacher of the Year Randi House with Conway Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry and members of her kindergarten class at Theodore Jones Elementary School.

Other Teachers of the Year for Conway schools are:

Sallie Cone Preschool – Reta Scroggs

Ida Burns Elementary – Nicole Loftis

Woodrow Cummins Elementary – Liz Kimble

Carolyn Lewis Elementary – Katie Kirkland

Florence Mattison Elementary – Allison Chrisman

Julia Lee Moore Elementary – Shannon Riner

Ellen Smith Elementary – Alisa Paladino

Jim Stone Elementary – Kristy Bentley

Marguerite Vann Elementary – Jana Hedgecock

Bob and Betty Courtway Middle School – Cheryl Bing

Ruth Doyle Middle School – Kaye Kaye Dell

Ray and Phyllis Simon Middle School – Tanya (Wilson) Easterwood

Carl Stuart Middle School – Kerry Hymas

Conway Junior High – Beth Fulks

Conway High School – William Richardson

House will represent the Conway School District in the Teacher of the Year Competition for Arkansas.