Women’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony Wednesday

Arkansas PBS will livestream the sixth annual Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony beginning at 6:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 20, at bit.ly/arkansaswomenshalloffame2022.

The Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame honors women whose contributions have influenced the direction of Arkansas in their community or the state. The Hall of Fame inducts contemporary (living) or historical (deceased) women who have made significant and enduring contributions to their field of endeavor, professional or otherwise; impacted the social, cultural, economic or political well being of the community, state or nation; elevated the status of women and positively impacted women and girls; helped open new frontiers for women and for society in general; and inspired others by their example.

2022 Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame inductees include:


  • Dr. Margaret Louise Sirman Clark – described as a mentor, pioneer and ultimate teacher, she has set an outstanding example for women in education, women of color and women dedicated to service.
  • Cynthia L. Conger – she has been a business leader and financial planner in wealth management for over 30 years in Arkansas.
  • Dorothy Morris – longtime philanthropist and patron of the arts.
  • Amy L. Rossi – an advocate for children and families, she served as executive director of Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families for more than 15 years.
  • Sissy Jones – founder of Sissy’s Log Cabin, Arkansas’s largest independently family-owned jewelry store, and a leading philanthropist in the state.


  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe – a singer, songwriter, guitarist and recording artist, she attained popularity in the 1930s and ‘40s with her gospel recordings, characterized by a unique mixture of spiritual lyrics and rhythmic accompaniment that was a precursor of rock and roll.
  • Mary Brown “Brownie” Williams Ledbetter – a lifelong political activist who worked in many controversial and crucial campaigns in Arkansas, as well as nationally and internationally.
  • Carolyn Pollan – a longtime public servant, she served 12, two-year terms and 24 years in the Arkansas House of Representatives, making her both the longest-serving Republican and longest-serving woman in Arkansas House history.


  • Hispanic Women’s Organization of Arkansas – a nonprofit organization founded in 1999 by a group of women, mostly Hispanic, concerned with the well-being of their families and their communities.
  • Junior League of Little Rock – a nonprofit organization of women committed to promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving the community. The organization will celebrate its 100-year anniversary in 2022.

The Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame depends on members of the public to nominate extraordinary women for induction. Nominations are accepted from organizations or individuals throughout the state. A diverse group of Arkansas citizens is recruited to act as a selection committee. The selection committee reviews all nominations, performs additional research if necessary, and selects nominees for induction into the Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame.

Additional information is available at arwomenshalloffame.com.