PCSSD announces School Lunch Program participation

PULASKI COUNTY — A dozen Pulaski County Special School District schools will once again participate in the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) during the 2023 – 2024 school year.

The CEP program will provide meals, regardless of eligibility category, at no charge for all students at the following schools:

  • Cato Elementary
  • College Station Elementary
  • Crystal Hill Elementary
  • Daisy Bates Elementary
  • Harris Elementary
  • Joe T. Robinson Middle
  • Landmark Elementary
  • Lawson Elementary
  • Mills University Studies High
  • Mills Middle
  • Oak Grove Elementary
  • William Jefferson Clinton Elementary

CEP is made possible through the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Special Assistance Certification and Reimbursement CEP. Federal reimbursement for meals is based on the Identified Student Percentage (ISP) established by the district. 

Meanwhile, applications for the National School Lunch Program allow students to receive free or reduced-price school meals. Application forms are available online and at each PCSSD school; the forms can be turned in between July 1, 2023, and June 30, 2024. Only one application should be submitted for each household.

Children who are members of a Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) household; enrolled in Head Start/Even Start programs; certified as migrant, homeless, or runaway by the District; and foster children are categorically eligible for free meals. At full price, a student breakfast is $2.50, and student lunches are $3.50 for elementary students and $3.75 for secondary students.

PCSSD will review applications and are subject to verification at any time during the school year by school officials. Parents/guardians who are dissatisfied with the District’s determination may make an appeal to the student nutrition department via email at [email protected]