Nighthawks host awards

HOT SPRINGS — National Park College (NPC) recently hosted the 2021-2022 Nighthawk Athletics Awards. During the event, Nighthawk Athletics recognized athletes, faculty and staff for their outstanding commitment to the College, the athletics program and others.  

Athletic director Jason Hudnell with baseball player Panama Mendez.

Dr. George Maxey was recognized with the Faculty MVP award for his commitment to challenging NPC student athletes in his classroom and for his support from the stands.

The Faculty Choice Award is nominated by NPC staff and faculty and presented to two student-athletes who have excelled in the classroom. These individuals have shown commitment to their pursuit of a degree and have impressed NPC faculty and staff. The women’s Faculty Choice Award went to Brooke Nalley, and Panama Mendez received the men’s Faculty Choice Award.  

The Nighthawk Spirit Award is awarded to one male and one female student-athlete who best exemplifies what it means to be a Nighthawk. The women’s Nighthawk Spirit Award went to Allie Shero, and Kamryn Vick received the men’s Nighthawk Spirit Award.  

Other awards received: 

  • Baseball 
    • Scholar-Athlete Award, Jake Turner 
    • Newcomer of the Year, Cade McBride 
    • Pitcher of the Year, Ayden Heard 
    • Team MVP, Demias Jimerson 
  • Women’s Basketball 
    • Scholar-Athlete Award, Taylor Humphreys 
    • Newcomer of the Year, Kyla Richardson 
    • Pitcher of the Year, Essieana Bennett 
    • Team MVP, India Atkins 
  • Men’s Basketball 
    • Scholar-Athlete Award, Damarcus Johnson 
    • Newcomer of the Year, Rodrique Massenat 
    • Pitcher of the Year, DeCorey Watkins 
    • Team MVP, Notris Nelson 
  • Women’s Cross-Country  
    • Scholar Athlete Award, Olivia Caraway 
    • Team MVP, Meighan Mears 
  • Men’s Cross-Country 
    • Scholar Athlete Award, Caiden Ingram 
    • Team MVP, Matthew Farias 
  • Women’s Soccer 
    • Scholar Athlete Award, Yessenia Vargas 
    • Team MVP, Samantha Mata 
  • Men’s Soccer 
    • Scholar Athlete Award, Jesus Soto 
    • Team MVP, David Montelongo 
  • Softball  
    • Scholar Athlete Award, Marley Johnson 
    • Newcomer Of The Year, Jadyn Hart 
    • Team Choice Award, Emma Hayes 
    • Team MVP, Jadyn Hart