Inaugural fishing derby at CHDC

The Conway Human Development Center Volunteer Council recently hosted its inaugural fishing derby at the CHDC Pond on Siebenmorgen Road.

There were 51 participants from the community and about 20 CHDC residents who participated.

The event raised about $650, which will benefit the development of the CHDC Nature Trail.

The derby was open to individuals 12 and younger (accompanied by an adult) or community individuals with developmental disabilities.

First, second and third place prizes were awarded.

R.J. Chatman won first place for the biggest fish.



First fish – Danny H.

Biggest fish – Ronnie P. (2 lbs. 7 oz.)

Smallest fish and most fish – Steven W.

Kainon Shaw caught the first fish at the derby.


First place with the biggest fish – R.J. Chatman (7 lbs. 2 oz.)

Second place with the second biggest fish – Hunter Lipsmeyer (6 lbs. 7 oz.)

Smallest fish – Andrew Rogers (less than 1 oz.)

Most fish – Hayden Teague (15 fish)

First fish – Kainon Shaw

Hunter Lipsmeyer, pictured with Lorlie March  (left) and  Will Lipsmeyer,  won second place with the second biggest fish.

“We had a great turnout for our first annual fishing derby,” said Elizabeth C. Litton, DHS Program Specialist – Volunteer Services Coordinator at the Conway Human Development Center. “Everyone had a great time! Our residents enjoyed the opportunity to visit with people from the community!”  

Working on this event were two University of Central Arkansas interns, Cayla Skinner and Alex Williams from the Health Education Department. The derby was a part of their major project.  

Hayden Teague won for most fish caught.

“The Volunteer Council is raising money to put in a nature trail and I asked the interns to come up with a way to help fund the project, and so came the fishing derby! Both the nature trail and the fishing derby are going to be an ongoing project for future interns in the volunteer services department.”

For more information, contact Litton at 501.329.6851, ext. 319, or [email protected].

Andrew Rogers won with the smallest fish.