Conway teacher recognized as National History Day Teacher

Conway Junior High teacher Sherry Holder has been awarded the Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award by National History Day.

Nominees have shown outstanding creativity, commitment and inspiration in developing student interest in history. Each state winner is awarded $500, and is eligible for the National Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award. Two national winners, announced on Thursday, June 18, will receive $10,000 in recognition of their outstanding efforts. Holder is one of only two winners from the state.

Middle and high school teachers are nominated by their administrators, peers or themselves for the award. Each participating state is allowed to select one high school and one middle school teacher to receive the state award and consideration for the national award.

“National History Day firmly believes that quality teachers are the best educational tools that students have,” said National History Day Executive Director Cathy Gorn. “The teachers selected as Behring award recipients are a credit to their discipline and exemplify what it takes to be a quality educator.”

Holder has been teaching at Conway Junior High for the last three years, and has been with the Conway School District since 1990.

“Mrs. Holder is the epitome of a great teacher. She is passionate about students and curriculum,” said Dr. Todd Edwards, principal at Conway Junior High School. “She works hard to engage students in learning and instills in them an appreciation for history. As shown by this award, she is also recognized as a leader among her peers, not only at the local level but statewide. We are lucky to have her on staff at Conway Junior High.”

Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award winners are NHD participating teachers who have demonstrated excellence in the classroom. Their work must clearly illustrate the development and use of creative teaching methods that interest students in history and help them make exciting discoveries about the past; award-winning teachers also demonstrate a commitment to helping students develop their interest in history and recognize their achievements.