Conway School District names Teacher of the Year

Conway Public Schools has named Conway High School Theatre Teacher Anthony “AJ” Spiridigliozzi as its District Teacher of the Year for 2019.

Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry and CHS Principal Jason Lawrence surprised Spiridigliozzi on May 23, walking into his introductory Stagecraft class with balloons and cookies.

“Mr. S,” as he is often called by his students, was given a round of applause by his class, as the recognition was announced.

Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry (from left), A.J. Spiridigliozzi, Lauren Spiridigliozzi and Conway High School Principal Jason Lawrence.

“I’m completely in shock,” said Spiridigliozzi. “The names that were on the list were all people who are incredible at what they do and I assumed one of them would get it because they are all well deserving.”

Lawrence said Spiridigliozzi, though humble, is more than deserving.

“Mr. Spiridigliozzi is set on 100 MPH all the time,” said Lawrence. “He’s a ‘kid-magnet’ who relates to students and gets the entire school and community involved. The work that he puts in to make the musical a success each year is amazing. He sees talent in all students and works to bring it out of them. He gives them opportunities to contribute to something ‘bigger’ and regardless of ability, he makes sure ALL can be a part. As a result, the productions are community events that are at a ‘professional level.’ Well-deserved recognition!”

“AJ is a wonderful example of an energetic teacher who captures the attention and the hearts of his students,” said Dr. Greg Murry. “His work is phenomenal because of that energy. He connects to students because he ‘gets’ them. We are so proud that he will represent all of our teachers as our District Teacher of the Year next school year.”

Spiridigliozzi is finishing his 12th year of teaching at Conway High School. He teaches Theatre as well Stagecraft, a program he worked to create at CHS. He has previously taught Forensics, Debate, Drama and Oral Communications at Conway High School and Conway Junior High School.

“Mr. S” also directs the very popular high school musical each year, which over the last several years has grown to include more than 150 students from all areas of interest, not just Theatre. This year’s musical production of “Good News” grossed the highest amount of sales of any production to date. He has also created partnerships with the Construction, Welding, East Lab, Art and Athletics programs to create a true school-wide event in the musical.

Before being chosen as District Teacher of the Year, Spiridigliozzi was chosen to represent Conway High School as its Teacher of the Year.

Other Teachers of the Year in the Conway School District:

  • Sallie Cone Preschool – Paris Broyles
  • Ida Burns Elementary – LeAnna Floyd
  • Woodrow Cummins Elementary – Stephanie Berkemeyer
  • Theodore Jones Elementary – Anna Schichtl
  • Carolyn Lewis Elementary – Keisha McDaniel
  • Florence Mattison Elementary – Marion Bailey
  • Julia Lee Moore Elementary – Bryan Cole
  • Ellen Smith Elementary – Kori Sisson
  • Jim Stone Elementary – Stephanie Lovelady
  • Marguerite Vann Elementary – Monica Garcia
  • Bob and Betty Courtway Middle School – Elise Hampton
  • Ruth Doyle Middle School – Natalie Lea
  • Ray and Phyllis Simon Middle School – Amy Ellenburg
  • Carl Stuart Middle School – Cher Masters
  • Conway Junior High – Jennifer Barnett


Spiridigliozzzi will now go on to represent Conway in the State Teacher of the Year competition this summer.