Conway Christian tennis team wins district championships

The Conway Christian Tennis Team traveled to Fairfield Bay for the 2A-1 District Tournament on Monday, coming home with first place titles in boys’ singles, girls’ singles and girls’ doubles, as well as the overall district championship in the girls’ division.

Conway Christian junior Ross Minner won the district championship in boys’ singles. Minner, the No. 1 seed, had a bye in the first round, and then sailed easily through the rest of the bracket. Minner defeated Austin Smith of Shirley 6-1, 6-0; and Jesal Pothi of Lisa Academy 6-1, 6-2 to make it to the finals. Minner then defeated Nathan Brady from Lisa Academy 6-1, 6-1 in the championship match to claim the singles title.

CCS freshman Macey Vaught won the girls’ singles championship. After a first round bye, Vaught, the No. 1 seed, defeated Greers Ferry West Side players Melyne Pinard 6-0, 6-0 and Alexis Barnes 6-2, 6-1  before ending up in a tough three set battle in the finals. Vaught pulled out the third set win 6-2, 4-6, 7-5 against Jessica Nankervis of Lisa Academy to capture the district title.

Junior Whitley Wooten and sophomore Mary-Morgan Ellis teamed up to win the first place title in girls’ doubles. Wooten/Ellis went in as the No. 1 seed garnering a bye in the first round. They then flew through semis, winning 6-0, 6-0 against the team of Berry/Johnson from Shirley to reach the finals. Wooten/Ellis continued to dominate in the championship match, defeating Gentry/Tourney of Greers Ferry West Side 6-2, 6-1 to take home the girls’ doubles title.

Winning both of the girls’ titles also earned Conway Christian the Overall 2A-1 District Championship in the girls’ division.   

“I am very proud of this team. They have worked hard all season, both in team practices and on their own time, and it has really paid off for them,” said coach Penny Vaught. “We are very happy with these wins at district, and we are looking forward to a good run at state!”

Other members of the CCS tennis team are Jacob Clanton, Marc Cochran, Hunter Tollett, Tyler Gum, Luke Beckman, Kaitlynn Stark, Jenna Wilson, Shelby Bradley, Catherine Lee, Kaitlynn Swanson and Dawn Lippelgoes.

With their district tournament wins, Ross Minner, Mary-Morgan Ellis, Whitley Wooten and Macey Vaught have all qualified to compete in the 2A state tournament to be held Monday, Oct. 21, and Tuesday, Oct. 22  in Jonesboro.