Conway arts alliance plans awards ceremony April 12

The Conway Alliance for the Arts (CAFTA) has scheduled the fifth annual Conway Arts Awards on Thursday, April 12, in the Trieschmann Fine Arts Building at Hendrix College.  

The awards, recognizing contributions to the arts in Conway, will be given for Outstanding Arts Educator, Outstanding Student Achievement (college and teen division), Outstanding Individual Arts Achievement, Rollin R. Potter Outstanding Arts Patron and a special Mayor’s Award for Community Advocate for the Arts. Also during the ceremony, the CAFTA Board will recognize an individual with the Gene Hatfield Lifetime Achievement in the Arts award.

Members of the public are encouraged to submit nominations for any of these awards at Forms can also be picked up at the Reynolds Performance Hall Box Office. The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday, March 23.

According to CAFTA Executive Director Ruthann Curry Browne, “Nominees are not required to live in Conway, but their contributions must be or have been impactful to the Conway arts community. The Conway Alliance for the Arts in past ceremonies has recognized some amazing artists and arts advocates who have greatly contributed to shaping and influencing our arts-rich community.”

The public is invited to attend the artist awards ceremony, free of charge, which will include local performing artists. The ceremony will be followed by a reception.  

For more information, contact Amanda Horton at [email protected].